Merry:)

DJ – Deep PsyTrance / Forest / DarkPsy – Day & Night
+ Chill-Out / Downbeat / Glitch / Hypnotic Techno / World Music

Sangoma Records, Gaggalacka – Dresden – Germany

Merry:) aka. Merry Smile is the permanent smiler from Saxony, an open-minded freak, proud Papa, experienced DJ and party organizer as well as head of the Gaggalacka family. He loves to transfer his smiling life energy to the dance floor with the help of his DJ sets. His name is always program.

Already in 1997 he was infected by a mix tape of the variety and twistedness of psychedelic trance and learned more and more about this music and life feeling. From then on he began to collect music and DJ Merry:) was born. With the party crew Insulin Productions together with friends he organized the first regular PsyTrance parties in his hometown Dresden since 1998. Between 2004 and 2010 he lived in Berlin and was active as member of the TribalTools-Recordstore as well as organizer of various parties.

In the year 2001 he started together with his friend Boxi the Gaggalacka – a 3-day OpenAir in a Thuringian stone pit, which had a very free concept and attracted more guests from year to year. Since 2011 the OpenAir changed locations and became a festival, which is now limited to about 1.500 guests. How the gaggalactic story develops, you can follow on this website.


As label DJ for Sangoma Records, Merry:) is soundwise very flexbible, whether for day or night. Usually a powerful and crispy mixture of Deep PsyTrance, Forest and DarkPsy between 148 and 154 BpM can be expected. The focus in his DJ set is on good variety, crystal clear productions, wicked stories and the certain kick.

His large repertoire of psychedelic sound and his gut feeling for the moment of the party allow him to musically fill the dancefloor with the energy that the party has been missing until then. His long experience as a DJ make up as paid.

Meanwhile Merry:) is also open for bookings in psychedelic chill-outs. He dives into the worlds of psychoactive downbeat, breaky glitch, hypnotic techno and world music. In the early years of his DJ career he played ChillOut sets in a DJ team, whose story he now continues after more than 10 years alone to present the chilled side of the Merry:) sound.


Merry:) so far rocked various parties and festivals with between 50 and 5.000 people on dancefloors in countries like Finland, India, Israel, Italy, Cambodia, Croatia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Switzerland, Czech Republic, Turkey, Hungary and almost everywhere in Germany. The love for this music allows him to get to know new countries and cultures, new mentalities, new freaks and their way of dancing, and of course he loves to rock new dancefloors with his DJ sets again and again.

A passion connected to DJing is the selection of tracklists for compilations. He likes to tell a story with the tracks from his favorite artists. Merry:) already released several free compilations for Gaggalacka and some CD’s on different labels. It’s a neverending story…

Releases – compiled by Merry:):

Further DJ project: Broth3rys – with sG4rY

As another DJ project, Merry:) has teamed up with his „Brotha from another Motha“ DJ sG4rY as Broth3rys, which was established in 2011 from a deep friendship and musical connection. Since then, the two guys have been on the road together for several times and play with this DJ project for the label Purple Hexagon Records. In their PingPong sets their sound styles meet right deep and funky PsyTrance at the pace of more or less 150 BpM exactly in the middle of their both styles.

DJing has been Merry:)’s passion since the beginning. In spite of the commercialization of the PsyTrance scene and the associated egomania, which is unfortunately very often to be found in the scene, he founded the Gaggalacka and expresses his attitude to the scene: It’s all about equal and creative togetherness und partying as an escape from everyday life, which ultimately contributes to a good spirit.

Contact & Info:
eMailto: merrysmile@gaggalacka.de
Facebook | Soundcloud | Mixcloud | Bandcamp

Never loose your smile!

Merry:)

DJ – Deep PsyTrance / Forest / DarkPsy – Day & Night
+ Chill-Out / Downbeat / Glitch / Hypnotic Techno / World Music

Gaggalacka – Dresden

Merry:) aka. Merry Smile ist der Dauergrinser aus dem Sachsenlande, ein aufgeschlossener Freak, stolzer Papa, erfahrener DJ und Veranstalter sowie Kopf der Gaggalacka-Familie. Er liebt es, mit Hilfe seiner DJ Sets, seine lächelnde Lebensenergie auf den Dancefloor zu übertragen. Sein Name ist stets Programm..

Bereits 1997 wurde er durch ein Mix-Tape von der Vielfalt und Verspultheit des Psychedelic Trance infiziert und erfuhr mit der Zeit mehr und mehr von diesem Musik- und Lebensgefühl. Im gleichen Zuge begann er Musik zu sammeln und DJ Merry:) war geboren. Mit der Partycrew Insulin Productions organisierte er mit Freunden seit 1998 die ersten regelmäßigen PsyTrance-Parties in seiner Heimatstadt Dresden. Zwischen 2004 und 2010 wohnte er in Berlin und mischte als Mitarbeiter im damaligen TribalTools-Recordstore aber auch als Veranstalter diverser Partys in deren PsyTrance-Szene aktiv mit.

Im Jahr 2001 startete er zusammen mit Boxi die Gaggalacka – ein kleines PsyTrance-OpenAir in einem thüringischen Steinbruch, welches ein sehr freies Konzept hatte und von Jahr zu Jahr immer mehr Gäste anlockte. Seit 2011 wechselte das OpenAir die Locations und wurde ein Festival, welches inzwischen auf ca. 1.500 Gäste limitiert wird. Wie sich die gaggalacktische Story weiter entwickelt, könnt Ihr auf dieser Website verfolgen..


Merry:) ist soundmäßig vielseitig einsetzbar, ob tags oder nachts. Meist ist eine kraftvolle und knackige Mischung aus Deep PsyTrance, Forest und DarkPsy zwischen 148 und 154 BpM zu erwarten. Den Fokus in seinen DJ Sets setzt er auf gute Abwechslung, kristallklar produzierte Tracks mit abgefahrenen Stories und dem gewissen Kick.

Sein großes Repertoire an psychedelischem Sound und sein Bauchgefühl für den Moment der Party erlauben ihm, musikalisch genau diese Energie auf dem Dancefloor zu füllen, die der Party bisher noch fehlte. Dabei macht sich seine jahrelange Erfahrung als DJ bezahlt.

Inzwischen ist Merry:) ist zusätzlich auch offen für Bookings in psychedelischen Chill-Outs. Dabei taucht er in die Welten des psychoaktiven Downbeats, breakigen Glitch, hypnotischen Techno bis hin zu WorldMusic.. In den frühen Jahren seiner DJ-Laufbahn spielte er ChillOut-Sets in einem DJ-Team, dessen Story er nun nach über 10 Jahren allein weiterführt, um die chillige Seite des Merry:)-Sounds darzubieten.


Merry:) spielte bisher auf verschiedenen Parties und Festivals mit zwischen 50 und 5000 Leuten auf dem Dancefloor, u.a. in Ländern wie Finnland, Indien, Israel, Italien, Kambodscha, Kroatien, Litauen, Niederlande, Österreich, Polen, Schweiz, Tschechien, Türkei, Ungarn und so gut wie fast überall in Deutschland. Die Liebe zu dieser Musik erlaubt ihm, neue Länder und Kulturen, neue Mentalitäten, neue Freaks und ihre Art und Weise zu feiern kennen zu lernen, und natürlich liebt er es, immer wieder neue Dancefloors mit seinen DJ Sets zu rocken.

Seit 2011 hat er durch das Erstellen von Compilations eine weitere Leidenschaft gefunden, wodurch er eine psychedelische Geschichte mit Hilfe der Tracks seiner Lieblings-Artists erzählen kann. Bisher erschienen mehrere free Compilations und einige CD´s auf verschiedenen Labels. It´s a neverending story…

Releases – compiled by Merry:):

Weiteres DJ Projekt: Broth3rys – zusammen mit sG4rY

Aus freundschaftlicher und musikalischer Verbundenheit ist 2011 das Projekt Broth3rys, zusammen mit seinem „Brotha from another Motha“ DJ sG4rY, entstanden. Seitdem sind die beiden DJ´s des Öfteren zusammen unterwegs und spielen mit diesem DJ-Projekt für das Label Purple Hexagon Records. Mit ihren PingPong-Sets treffen sich ihre Sound-Styles genau in der Mitte mit deep und funky PsyTrance um die 150 BpM.

Das DJing ist seit Beginn an Merry:)´s Leidenschaft. Aus Trotz zur Kommerzialisierung der PsyTrance-Szene und der damit verbundenen Egomanie, die leider sehr oft in der Szene zu finden ist, hat er die Gaggalacka ins Leben gerufen und drückt damit seine Einstellung zur Szene aus: Es geht ihm dabei um das Together, um Party als Flucht aus dem Alltag und um gleichwertiges Miteinander, was schließlich zu einem guten Spirit beiträgt.

Kontakt & Info:
eMailto: merrysmile@gaggalacka.de
Facebook | Soundcloud | Mixcloud | Bandcamp

Never loose your smile!